back to homepage

Diplomat Awards

The 8th edition of the annual Diplomat of the Year Awards is scheduled for 15 March 2019 at Meikles Hotel in Harare from 6.30pm to 8.30pm. The 2019 event will run under the theme, ‘Sharing Our Stories, Making a difference.’ 



The prime objectives of the Diplomat of the year Awards are to honour outstanding envoys each year and also celebrate the contribution of all diplomats in Zimbabwe to the development of the country and its people.

2019 Awards

The 8th edition of the Diplomat of the Year Awards will see 10 ambassadors and three deputy head of missions walking away with gongs. Two prizes will be presented per each category or continent. The overall winner will be selected from the 10 nominees.

The Grassroots Diplomat Awards introduced this year will be expanded to five prizes.  These Awards honours Zimbabweans who have impacted positively on other people’s lives, especially changing the lives of the poor and marginalised groups. Areas that will be looked at this year include: Poverty Alleviation; Peace Building; Economic Inclusion; Gender equality; and Climate Action.

Diplomat Awards Selection Criteria

The Diplomat of the Year Awards are presented to outstanding diplomats who have represented their countries well, shown a passion to make a positive impact on the lives of Zimbabweans and also related well with other ambassadors. A Nomination Committee made up of journalists, civic society and business representatives selects the winners. All diplomats who have been in Zimbabwe for six months or more are legible for nomination.


The Diplomat of the Year Awards were established in 2012 by Diplomat Magazine with the prime objective of celebrating the contribution of all diplomats in Zimbabwe to the development of the country and its people.

After the success and endorsement of the third edition of the Awards which was held at Meikles hotel in 2014, most stakeholders felt that the Awards had outgrown the founders and there was need to set up a Board of Trustees to hosts and manage the awards. This resulted in the formation of the Diplomacy Appreciation Trust (DAT) which organises and manages the Awards each year.

The Awards have grown to become one of the biggest events on the diplomatic calendar in Zimbabwe, attracting far more ambassadors, UN representatives and international media coverage than any other event.

Previous Winners

The late Spanish Ambassador to Zimbabwe, Ms Pillar Feragut won the inaugural Diplomat of the Year Award. Her runners-up were the former Chinese and Kuwait ambassadors to Zimbabwe, Mr Xin Shunkang and Abudalla respectively.

In 2013 the award was scooped by the former EU ambassador to Zimbabwe, Aldo Dell’Ariccia. His runners-up were; Ambassador Yeetendra Kumar Tripathi of India and Ndiyoi Mutiti of Zambia. In 2014, Ambassador Mutiti rose from runner the previous year to scoop the Diplomat of the Year Award. Her runners-up were; Ambassador Stefano Lavizzari of Switzerland and Ambassador Marcia Maro dasilva of Brazil.

In 2015 Ms Gerdine Sneller of Netherlands won the overall award followed by Mr Adid Mohammed Rajabu of Tanzania and Hashem Dajani of Palestine as the first and second runners up.

In 2016 the overall award was won by UN Resident Coordinator to Zimbabwe, Mr Bishow Parajuli. Last year the top Award was won by European Ambassador to Zimbabwe, Philipe Van Damme.  The 2018 Awards were won by Ambassador Huang Ping of Ambassador of China. Ambassadors Balbina Daes Pienaar of Ambassador of Namibia and Enrico De Agostini Ambassador of Italy were first and second runners up effectively.